Griezmann comments on ‘tiresome’ future questions

Griezmann comments on ‘tiresome’ future questions

Date published: Saturday 11th March 2017 1:56

Antoine Griezmann says he is bored answering questions about his Atletico Madrid future, but he has reiterated his desire to stay and says: “I see no reason why I would want to leave.”

The talented France forward is believed to be Manchester United’s number one strike target this summer and reports suggest Jose Mourinho is willing to pay the £85million release clause in Griezmann’s contract.

The club also believe Red Devils midfielder Paul Pogba could play a part in persuading his international colleague to make the huge move to Old Trafford.

And last month Griezmann reportedly told Pogba that he wants to play in the Premier League with United his likely destination.

However the player, who has scored 20 goals this season, has insisted he has no reason to leave Madrid.

“I always get the same questions about my future and it is getting a bit tiresome,” Griezmann told La1 .

“Like I always say, I am very happy here at Atletico and in Madrid.

“The weather is great, my team-mates are some of the best you can have and I am working with a great coach.

“So I am feeling very well here. I see no reason why I would want to leave.”

Griezmann, 25, whose contract runs until 20121, has also backed boss Diego Simeone to stay at the club.

Simeone has been linked with a move away for more than 12 months and he has been mentioned as a possible successor for Arsene Wenger should the Frenchman leave Arsenal in the summer.

Griezmann though has poured cold water on those claims: “He’s very happy here and he feels the team has a lot more to give.

“He also wants us to go far in the Champions League and in La Liga so I am sure he’ll continue.”

Only last month Griezmann cast doubts over a move to England.

“I have a lot of doubts about moving to England,” he said

HAVE YOUR SAY IN OUR FORUM

Comments

Leave a Reply

